Need to contact us?

Call 0805 109946

Mon. - Fri.

9AM - 8PM (CET)

Sat. & Sun. Closed

Monday 5th April. Closed

Pronation guide and shoe types

Getting the right fit in running footwear isn't just about size. It's about having the advantages you need to perform your best. Our best is born in the New Balance Sports Research Lab in Lawrence, Massachusetts where we invest countless hours in the study of running pronation.

What is pronation in running?

The definition of pronation is straightforward; it simply refers to the natural motion of your feet as you walk or run. If you get a lot of pain when you hit the tracks or the treadmill, understanding pronation can make a huge difference as you can then easily address the problem, which usually means finding the right running shoe for your gait. In general, when you’re running, you’ll either follow a pattern of overpronation (sometimes referred to as ‘pronated feet’), normal pronation, or supination (aka ‘underpronation’). Once you’ve figured out your gait, you’ll be much better equipped to choose the perfect running trainer, so you’re able to get the most out of your sessions and, most-importantly, stay pain-free throughout. 

Types of pronation

Below is a more detailed breakdown of the different types of pronation, and what they look and feel like.

Overpronation: Overpronation is when the ankle rolls too far downwards and inwards with each stride you take. The problem is that the ankle continues to drop when the foot should be pushing off from the ground, resulting in the big toe and second toe taking all the slack.

Supination or underpronation: Supination, or underpronation, works the opposite way on to overpronation. It is when the foot rolls too far outwards with each step. In this scenario, all the stress is placed on the little and outer toes. 

Neutral pronation: Neutral pronation is when your feet and ankles stay properly aligned when you’re running, making it less likely that you’ll suffer from injuries or pain from your training. When the heel lands, you’ll roll naturally and evenly towards your toes, with your arch collapsing lightly inwards to absorb the impact.

Moderate pronation: Moderate pronation can refer to either overpronation or supination, meaning you have a slight tendency towards one of these but not a major one.

What is overpronation? 

Overpronation is where the foot and ankle roll too far inwards while you’re running, resulting in your big and second toe taking most of the impact as you push off the ground. One of the most common injuries caused by overpronation while running is shin splints. This is due to excessive strain being put on the posterior tibialis tendon, as well as the constant rotation of the foot which has the knock on effect of causing the tibia to rotate too much in the lower leg. The causes of overpronation tend to be anatomical, with people with naturally flat or very flexible feet suffering the most. The best way to fix the problem is to wear shoes that offer plenty of stability and support.

What is supination or underpronation?

Supination refers to a natural rolling outward of the foot as you walk or run, causing the little and outside toes to take too much impact when you push off the ground. It occurs most in people with particularly high, rigid foot arches – basically the opposite of overpronation. Common injuries caused by supination include ankle injuries, iliotibial band syndrome, Achilles tendonitis and plantar fasciitis. If you think you have underpronation/supination, the best way to fix this is to wear running shoes with plenty of cushioning and flexibility. 

Pronation test and gait analysis  

To discover the gait pattern, you have when you run, there are some simple gait analysis tests you can do. First, take a look at the soles of your running shoes. If they show a lot of wear and tear on the outside, it looks like probably you supinate when you run. When you lay the shoe flat on the ground, they may also tip slightly outwards. If they look most worn on the inside of the sole, it’s likely you’re overpronating.

You can also carry out the pronation footprint test, which involves wetting your foot and creating a footprint on some cardboard. If the marked area looks like the whole sole of your foot with no gap in the water pattern where your arch should be, you’ve got flat feet and may have overpronation. If the footprint is mostly of the outside of your foot with a large gap in the print where your arch is, this indicates you’ve got a higher arch than usual and may supinate when you run. 

Pronation shoe type guide 

Whether you have a tendency towards overpronation or supination, our range of innovative, high-tech running shoes have got you covered. For underpronators, we’d recommend a pair of arch support shoes to help balance your stride. And for those with pronated feet, a pair of maximum support trainers will temper over-flexibility for a more even, pain-free gait. You can find the right running shoes for you here, using the "Support Type" filter.

Best running shoes for overpronation

The best running shoes for overpronation are those that offer extra stability and support to help keep the tendency for the ankle to roll inwards and downwards to a minimum. Opting for a pair of shoes with greater support doesn’t mean you need to be weighed down, though. All our stability motion control shoes are made from superior, lightweight materials that allow you to stay agile, including our range of New Balance 860 running shoes for overpronation.

Best running shoes for underpronation 

The best running shoes for underpronation are those that provide responsive cushioning and added flexibility, alongside heel support to help those with a higher foot arch than usual. That doesn’t mean compromising on stability, though, as all of our flexible and cushioned running shoes are also designed to give you the support you need, mile after mile. Check out 1080 New Balance running shoes

Shoe Type Why You Should Wear It

Neutral Cushioning

For athletes who seek the ultimate in cushioning for their workouts.

Stability

Like a neutral cushioning shoe, but with a moderate amount of pronation control.

Lightweight

Designed for athletes who value speed and agility in lightweight, responsive shoes.

Minimal

Low-profile, lightweight shoes that offer a barefoot fit and feel.

Motion Control

Maximum control, stability, and support for those with moderate to severe overpronation.

According to the NPD Group's 2013 Athletic Footwear Brand Landscape Study: "Of all the leading Athletic Performance Brands, New Balance ranks highest on Comfort and Fit."

Avez-vous besoin de nous contacter ?

Du lundi au vendredi

De 09.00 à 20.00 (CET)

Samedi uniquement Chat de 09.00 heures à 13.00 heures.

Guide de la pronation et des types de chaussures

Prendre les bonnes chaussures de running, ce n’est pas juste une question de taille. C’est aussi connaître les avantages dont vous avez besoin pour vous entraîner au maximum de vos capacités. Notre excellence est issue du Laboratoire de recherche en Sports New Balance à Lawrence, Massachusetts, où nous consacrons d’innombrables heures dans l’étude de la pronation en running.

Qu’est-ce que la pronation en running?

La définition de la pronation est simple : elle désigne simplement le mouvement naturel de vos pieds lorsque vous marchez ou courez. Si vous avez très mal lorsque vous êtes sur la piste ou le tapis de course, comprendre la pronation peut faire toute la différence car vous pourrez alors facilement résoudre votre problème, généralement en trouvant la chaussure de course adaptée à votre foulée. En général, lorsque vous courez, vous adoptez soit un schéma de sur-pronation (parfois appelé « pied pronateur »), soit une pronation normale, soit une supination (aussi appelée « sous-pronation »). Une fois votre foulée identifiée, vous serez bien mieux armé pour choisir la chaussure de running idéale, ce qui vous permettra de tirer le meilleur parti de vos séances et, surtout, de ne plus ressentir de douleur.

Types de Pronation

Vous trouverez ci-dessous une description plus détaillée des différents types de pronation, ainsi que de leur manifestation et leurs conséquences.

Pronation neutre: On parle de pronation neutre lorsque vos pieds et chevilles restent correctement alignés lorsque vous courez, ce qui réduit les risques de blessures ou de douleurs dues à votre entraînement. Lorsque le talon se pose, votre pied roule naturellement et harmonieusement vers vos orteils, votre voûte plantaire s'affaissant légèrement vers l'intérieur pour absorber l'impact.

Sur-pronation: On parle de sur-pronation lorsque la cheville roule trop loin vers le bas et vers l’intérieur à chaque pas. Il en résulte que la cheville continue de s'abaisser alors que le pied devrait repousser le sol, si bien que le gros orteil et le deuxième font tout le travail de poussée.

Supination ou sous-pronation: La supination, ou sous-pronation, fonctionne à l'inverse de la sur-pronation. Elle se produit lorsque le pied roule trop vers l'extérieur à chaque pas. Dans ce cas, toutes les contraintes sont exercées sur le bord extérieur du pied et les plus petits orteils.

Pronation modérée: La pronation modérée peut faire référence à la sur-pronation ou à la supination, ce qui signifie que vous avez une légère tendance à adopter l'une ou l’autre, mais pas de manière significative.

Qu’est-ce que la sur-pronation?

On parle de sur-pronation lorsque le pied et la cheville s'affaissent trop vers l'intérieur pendant la course, ce qui fait que le gros orteil et le deuxième subissent la majeure partie de l'impact lorsque vous appuyez sur le sol. L'une des blessures les plus courantes causées par la sur-pronation en running est le syndrome de stress tibial. Ceci est dû à la tension excessive exercée sur le tendon postérieur du tibia ainsi qu'à la rotation constante du pied qui a pour effet de provoquer une rotation excessive du tibia dans la jambe inférieure. Les causes de la sur-pronation sont généralement anatomiques, les personnes ayant des pieds naturellement plats ou très souples étant celles qui en souffrent le plus. La meilleure façon de résoudre ce problème est de porter des chaussures offrant une grande stabilité et un bon maintien.

Qu’est-ce que la supination ou sous-pronation?

La supination désigne un déroulement naturel du pied sur l'extérieur lorsque vous marchez ou courez, ce qui fait que le bord extérieur et les petits orteils subissent un impact trop important lorsque vous appuyez sur le sol. Elle se produit surtout chez les personnes dont la voûte plantaire est particulièrement haute et rigide, soit l'inverse de la sur-pronation. Les blessures courantes causées par la supination comprennent les blessures à la cheville, le syndrome de la bandelette ilio-tibiale, la tendinite d’Achille et la fasciite plantaire. Si vous pensez être sujet à la sous-pronation/supination, le meilleur moyen d'y remédier est de porter des chaussures de running offrant un bon amorti et de la souplesse.

Test de pronation et analyse de la foulée

Pour connaître votre type de foulée lorsque vous courez, il existe quelques tests simples d'analyse de la foulée que vous pouvez effectuer. Examinez tout d’abord les semelles de vos chaussures de running. Si elles présentent beaucoup d'usure sur le bord extérieur, il est probable que vous soyez en supination lorsque vous courez. Lorsque vous les posez à plat sur le sol, il se peut également qu'elles penchent légèrement vers l'extérieur. Au contraire, si vos chaussures présentent une usure plus importante sur le côté intérieur des semelles, il est probable que vous soyez en sur-pronation.

Vous pouvez également effectuer le test de l'empreinte de pronation, qui consiste à mouiller votre pied et à créer une empreinte sur du carton. Si la zone marquée correspond à l'ensemble de la plante de votre pied, sans vide là où devrait se trouver votre voûte plantaire, vous avez les pieds plats et vous êtes peut-être sur-pronateur. Si l'empreinte correspond principalement à l'extérieur du pied, avec un grand vide à l'endroit de votre voûte plantaire, cela signifie que celle-ci est plus haute que la moyenne et que vous êtes plutôt en supination lorsque vous courez.

Guide des types de chaussures de pronation

Que vous ayez une tendance à la sur-pronation ou à la supination, notre gamme de chaussures de course techniques et innovantes est faite pour vous. Pour les supinateurs, nous recommandons une paire de chaussures avec support plantaire afin d'équilibrer votre foulée. Et pour les pieds pronateurs, des baskets stables au maintien maximal permettront de limiter leur trop grande souplesse pour une foulée plus régulière et sans douleur. Vous trouverez toutes nos chaussures de running pour la pronation ici.

Meilleures chaussures de running pour la sur-pronation

Les meilleures chaussures de running pour la sur-pronation sont celles qui offrent davantage de stabilité et de maintien afin de limiter au maximum la tendance de la cheville à rouler vers l'intérieur et vers le bas. Mais opter pour un meilleur maintien ne signifie pas pour autant s’alourdir. Toutes nos chaussures de stabilité à contrôle de mouvement sont fabriquées à partir de matériaux légers et performants qui vous assurent une grande agilité, comme c'est le cas de notre gamme de chaussures de course New Balance 860 pour la sur-pronation.

Meilleures chaussures de running pour la supination

Les meilleures chaussures de running pour la sous-pronation sont celles qui offrent un amorti réactif et une flexibilité accrue, ainsi qu'un bon maintien du talon pour aider ceux qui ont une voûte plantaire plus haute que la moyenne. Cela ne signifie pas pour autant faire des compromis sur la stabilité, car toutes nos chaussures de course flexibles avec amorti sont également conçues pour vous apporter le maintien dont vous avez besoin, kilomètre après kilomètre. Découvrez les chaussures de running New Balance 1080, développées pour bénéficier d'un amorti exceptionnel, idéal pour les personnes en sous-pronation.

Type Chaussures Pourquoi vous devriez les porter ?

Foulée universelle

Pour les sportifs qui cherchent les dernières nouveautés en amortissement pour leur entraînement.

Stabilité

Comme les chaussures d’amortissement neutres, mais avec un contrôle modéré de la pronation.

Poids Léger

Des chaussures réactives, conçues pour les sportifs qui évaluent la vitesse et l’agilité avec un poids léger.

Minimal

Profil bas, chaussures légères qui offrent une sensation de pieds nus.

Contrôle de pronation

Contrôle maximal, stabilité et maintien pour ceux qui ont une sur-pronation de modérée à sévère.